29 October 2014 saw over 50 attend the culmination of the 2014 Bendigo Community Bank Beenleigh Branch, Rotary High School Debate competition. A debate between Calvary Christian College Team B and Upper Coomera State College Team A.

This year the final of the 9th annual debating competition was held at the Beenleigh RSL.
Over 50 people attended to watch the finalists display their debating skills and prowess.  The topic "That Summer is the best time of the Year" gave the teams plenty of opportunity to develop their arguments.
Calvary Christian College Team B (Ryan Fudge, TJ Morley-Buchanan and Taylor Birtchnell) were the affirmative team and Upper Coomera State College Team A (Roimata Mataroa, Angela Swee and Paige Dube) took the negative stance.
Tyler Duran from Calvary Christian College chaired the debate, while Gabriel Lim of Upper Coomera State College was the timekeeper.
All debaters put their best foot forward and were impressive in delivery of their prepared speeches.  They provided an entertaining debate with well thought and argued points, and managed to include humour as well.
On the night the affirmative team shone through and established that Summer is the best time of the year. Congratulations.
Adjudicators for the night were, Jessica Prouten, Tim Ballam-Cross, Rhiannon Nind and Chauntelle Price.  During the competition Yvonne Brietkrutz and Kartik Menon also adjudicated.  Without the dedication of these people the competition would not exist.
The Calvary Christian College Team B - 2014 winners with Helen Wilson, Manager of the Bendigo Community Bank Beenleigh Branch and PP Ross Kruger, Chair for the evening.
Upper Coomera State College Team A, first time entrants in the competition, and runners up.
Without a sponsor and Adjudicators this event would not be able to take place.